LAHS Winter Programme 2019–2020

home_button

Talks usually take place on the third Friday of the month and this year will be held in the Community Hall, upstairs at Oban Fire Station, starting at 7:30pm. Visitors are most welcome.

Talks are free to members and by donation to visitors (£3 is recommended)

Fri 18th October - Bruce Keith 'Bridgescapes - a journey through bridgebuilding in Scotland'
Fri 15th November AGM (at 7:00). Your chance to have your say about the Society + Bob McCulloch showing slides of Old Oban
Fri 13th December - Emily Freeman (National Museums of Scotland) - 'Treasure Trove'

2020

Fri 17th January - Ian Duff - 'Lighthouse Years' - *VENUE St Columba's Cathedral Hall*
Fri 21st February - Lukasz Banazek- 'Recent archaeological survey of Kilmartin Glen and North Knapdale '
Fri 20th March - Eve Boyle (NMS)  The Battle of Dun Nechtain AD 685: where was it and why should we care
Fri 3rd April - Speakers on local projects: Dunollie, Kilbride & St Conans

Summer Programme 2019

Tuesday, 18th July - Visit to Lismore to see excavations at the old cathedral -
Friday, 26th July - Visit to Dalmally to visit the Clan McGregor excavation at Tigh Mor, Glenstrae
Tuesday, 17th September - Visit to Inveraray Castle Archives with Archivist, Alison Palmer

For all walks, please use the contact page to register your interest (it is really helpful to know numbers for handouts and even, maybe, teas! Please note that participants undertake walks at their own risk - sadly, this is something that we have to state these days.)

Please use the contact page if you have any queries about the Society or about the programme.